Finale SmartMusic
  HomeLog InRegisterSearch the ForumHelp

MakeMusic Forum > Public Forums > Finale - Windows > Help writing Percussion Parts, Please  Forum Quick Jump

New Topic Post Reply Printable Version
[ << Previous Thread | Next Thread >> | Show Newest Post First ]

mrskristin
Registered Member

Email Address Not AvailablePersonal Homepage Not AvailableSend a Private Message to mrskristinAIM Not AvailableICQ Not AvailableY! Not AvailableMSN Not Available
Date Joined Aug 2009
Total Posts : 6

Posted 8/18/2009 1:11 PM (GMT -6)    Quote This PostAlert An Admin About This Post.
Hello, I'm new to the forums but not at all new to Finale, have been a using it as my primary composing program since 2004.

My question isn't regarding Finale as much as I need some actual composing advice. I am a woodwinds instructor and performer by trade, but I know my way around most brass instruments and the basics of the percussion family (as in, I know how to roll on a snare, that sort of thing).
However, I was never really introduced into the world of auxilary percussion and I was wondering if I could get a couple of tips.

Specifically, I am writing parts for an anvil, a vibratone, claves, rain stick and windchimes.

My questions are;

Are there specific lines these instruments should be written on?

For the vibratone, rainstick, and windchimes, are there any rules as to how to write them? (Ex; does a windchimes part require a glissando or the like? How do you let a percussionist know when to raise and lower their thumb on the vibratone? Can I just write a whole note for a rainstick or do I need a special sign?)

Thank you in advance for your help!

PeterQD
Win Fin v2 - 2009

Email Address Not AvailablePersonal Homepage Not AvailableSend a Private Message to PeterQDAIM Not AvailableICQ Not AvailableY! Not AvailableClick to Add gustmanager@hotmail.co.uk to your MSN Buddy List.
Date Joined Jan 2007
Total Posts : 507