Finale SmartMusic
  Home | Log In | Register | Search | Help

MakeMusic Forum > Public Forums > Finale - Windows - FORUM HAS MOVED! > WHICH DAW?  Forum Quick Jump

You cannot post new topics in this forum. You cannot reply to topics in this forum. Printable Version
[ << Previous Thread | Next Thread >> | Show Newest Post First ]

budm
Registered Member

Email Address Not AvailablePersonal Homepage Not AvailableSend a Private Message to budmAIM Not AvailableICQ Not AvailableY! Not AvailableMSN Not Available
Date Joined Dec 2011
Total Posts : 57

Posted 7/30/2016 1:40 PM (GMT -6)    Quote This PostAlert An Admin About This Post.
I am a classical symphonic composer – current system below

Will be buying a new computer and considering Windows 10

Would appreciate some advise on which DAW would work best, and
What orchestral sound library would you recommend?

Thank you
BUD

Full symphonic work, Desktop computer Dell Vostro 400, windows XP
Audio type: Realtec ALC888 (7.1 Channel Audio
Finale version 2014.4 5030 with GPO. ( can not upgrade to 2014.5)

Daz
Registered Member

Email Address Not AvailablePersonal Homepage Not AvailableSend a Private Message to DazAIM Not AvailableICQ Not AvailableY! Not AvailableMSN Not Available
Date Joined Feb 2006
Total Posts : 1723

Posted 7/30/2016 2:11 PM (GMT -6)    Quote This PostAlert An Admin About This Post.
Hi

It depends on your budget and you requirements.

For a DAW, I like Reaper. It is inexpensive and very capable.
If you have a very big budget, then Steinberg Nuendo is the 'Grandaddy' of them all.
Have a look at some articles, such as this one

Sample Libraries are also a big ocean to swim in. Each library has its own strengths and which one you get depends on your budget and your requirements.
I've been using GIfF and GPO and they suit my needs, but then my needs are modest.
There are interesting articles all over the web, such as This Guide which can help you with making a choice.

Cheers...

Daz. :o)