Finale SmartMusic
  Home | Log In | Register | Search | Help

MakeMusic Forum > Public Forums > Finale - Windows - FORUM HAS MOVED! > Simple Entry Feature  Forum Quick Jump

You cannot post new topics in this forum. You cannot reply to topics in this forum. Printable Version
[ << Previous Thread | Next Thread >> | Show Newest Post First ]

Zuill
"The Troll"

Email Address Not AvailablePersonal Homepage Not AvailableSend a Private Message to ZuillAIM Not AvailableICQ Not AvailableY! Not AvailableMSN Not Available
Date Joined Oct 2003
Total Posts : 29077

Posted 12/13/2016 12:05 AM (GMT -6)    Quote This PostAlert An Admin About This Post.
Per a discussion on the Mac forum, I am at a loss. I was directed to the tutorial on Entry methods, page 14. It states there that if, in Simple Entry, one overfills a measure, it automatically splits the note so that the extra beats are tied into the next measure. I've been using Finale for 20 years and have never had this behavior. What am I missing? If there is a setting I am missing, please educate me.

Zuill

P.S.: With the mouse I enter a half note then a whole note in a 4/4 bar. According to the tutorial, the whole note should split into 2 tied halves spanning the barline. But that doesn't happen.

P.P.S.: Incomplete documentation strikes again. Since I rarely use QWERTY entry in Simple, and the tutorial failed to specify computer keyboard entry with caret, I would never have thought that the behavior would not be available with the mouse. I generally use MIDI input, but I use mouse for quick fixes. Upon reading of the fix for overfilled measure accidentals not tying across a barline, I thought to test it. Too bad the instructions were incomplete.

"When all is said and done, more is said than done."

Win 7 64bit, 2011b, 2012c, 2014d, 2014.5, 25.2

Favorite Forum quote: "Please, everybody, IGNORE THE TROLL!"

Post Edited (Zuill) : 12/12/2016 11:54:42 PM (GMT-6)

Motet
Isorhythmic