Finale SmartMusic
  Home | Log In | Register | Search | Help

MakeMusic Forum > Public Forums > Finale - Windows - FORUM HAS MOVED! > Chord Libraries for Guitar in Finale 2009 Help  Forum Quick Jump

You cannot post new topics in this forum. You cannot reply to topics in this forum. Printable Version
[ << Previous Thread | Next Thread >> | Show Newest Post First ]

Tony in GR
Registered Member

Email Address Not AvailablePersonal Homepage Not AvailableSend a Private Message to Tony in GRAIM Not AvailableICQ Not AvailableY! Not AvailableMSN Not Available
Date Joined Feb 2009
Total Posts : 5

Posted 2/4/2009 10:55 AM (GMT -5)    Quote This PostAlert An Admin About This Post.
I will admit that I am a newbie to Finale (have 2009 on a Vista Machine), but I am a little stumped at times by the awesome depth of this program.

My main problem is generating chord diagrams in TAB or standard notation (same problem). Sometimes, I will take something from a fakebook and scan or type it in; sometimes, I will mess around with my own compositions-whatever. I especially like taking classical pieces, transposing them for guitar, and jazzing them up a bit. So far, no problem with Finale 2009. I will do both the standard notation and a staff in TAB to help me figure out the fingerings. Again, no problems.

It's when I start to put in the chord diagrams that the problems start, for me at least.

Let me give you an example with Dma7 in the barred 5th position. The notes would be starting on the A or 5th string, D, A, C#,F#, A, and the TAB fingerings would be: X, 5,7,6,7,5. This is only one of the possible fingerings in this position, but makes it easy to go to the next chord which is Eb0 in the piece that I am playing with. High A can only be played starting on the 1st (E), 5th position, 2nd-10, 3rd-14, etc., regardless of the guitar type: classical, cutaway, or e guitar. There is no way that high A can appear anywhere in the first 4 positions on any standard guitar.