Finale SmartMusic
  Home | Log In | Register | Search | Help
   
MakeMusic Forum > Public Forums > Finale - Macintosh - FORUM HAS MOVED! > how do i delete from the open file box?  Forum Quick Jump
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum. You cannot reply to topics in this forum. Printable Version
[ << Previous Thread | Next Thread >> | Show Newest Post First ]

DR. Mac
Registered Member

Email Address Not AvailablePersonal Homepage Not AvailableSend a Private Message to DR. MacAIM Not AvailableICQ Not AvailableY! Not AvailableMSN Not Available
Date Joined Jan 2005
Total Posts : 8
 
   Posted 1/5/2005 11:09 AM (GMT -5)    Quote This PostAlert An Admin About This Post.
i'm a new user to 2005 finale,and i seem to have too many copies of the same program,6 to be exact.how do i delete these unneeded files from the open file box?every time i close something i have written it asked me to save it so i did.now i have too many of the same thing.help, thank you

using a dual g5
Back to Top

Pete Sawchuk
This Spacebar For Rent



Click to send Pete Sawchuk email.Personal Homepage Not AvailableSend a Private Message to Pete SawchukAIM Not AvailableICQ Not AvailableY! Not AvailableMSN Not Available
Date Joined May 2000
Total Posts : 670
 
   Posted 1/5/2005 9:42 PM (GMT -5)    Quote This PostAlert An Admin About This Post.
DR. Mac,

One sure way to "reset" your "Open Recent Files" is to trash your preferences [YOURUSERNAME > Library > Preferences >Finale 2005 Preferences] after quitting f2k5. When you restart Finale afterwards, you'll find the "Open Recent Files" button greyed out & the dropdown list empty. Of course, you'll need to reset some settings [MIDI for one, right off the bat]. Upon quitting Finale again, it will happily replace your trashed preference file with a new one if you've got it set up to do so, which I think it is by default [Finale 2005a menu > Preferences > Program Options > Save > check "Save Preferences Upon Quitting Finale"]. If there's a less radical way to do this, I haven't found it yet.


Pete Sawchuk
Finale 2003a, 2004c, 2005a, Mac OSX 10.3.7
PowerMac G4 Dual 867Mhz w/ 1 Gb RAM, 23" Apple Cinema Display
PowerBook G4 12" 867Mhz w/ 256Mb RAM
Edirol PCR-30 Keyboard Controller w/ built-in USB interface

Back to Top

Bill Stevens
Registered Member

Email Address Not AvailablePersonal Homepage Not AvailableSend a Private Message to Bill StevensAIM Not AvailableICQ Not AvailableY! Not AvailableMSN Not Available
Date Joined Jun 2000
Total Posts : 5408
 
   Posted 1/5/2005 10:25 PM (GMT -5)    Quote This PostAlert An Admin About This Post.
I'm not sure I understand your question -- Pete may have already answered it in his reply above. But you may be saving copies of your file instead of saving OVER the old copy. The way to turn this off is:

Options > Program Options > Save > Uncheck "Make Backups When Saving Files"

Bill Stevens
Back to Top

DR. Mac
Registered Member

Email Address Not AvailablePersonal Homepage Not AvailableSend a Private Message to DR. MacAIM Not AvailableICQ Not AvailableY! Not AvailableMSN Not Available
Date Joined Jan 2005
Total Posts : 8
 
   Posted 1/9/2005 10:05 PM (GMT -5)    Quote This PostAlert An Admin About This Post.
thanks for answering pete and bill
Back to Top
You cannot post new topics in this forum. You cannot reply to topics in this forum. Printable Version
   
Forum Information
Currently it is Tuesday, August 16, 2022 12:13 PM (GMT -5)
There are a total of 403,820 posts in 58,165 threads.
In the last 3 days there were 0 new threads and 0 reply posts. View Active Threads