The original version of this page can be found at : http://forum.makemusic.com/default.aspx?f=5&m=392207
Posted By : Jon McManus - 2/26/2013 2:42 PM

I'm relatively new to Finale. 

Has anyone created a plugin or script to automatically generate bow marks?  I would asssume that after the initial 'pickup' marks are entered, the remainder of the marks should be determined by the presence (or absence) of slurs.  In such an application, I would also expect to be able to change one or more marks manually, and have subsequent marks follow appropriately.

With respect to the obvious question: no, I don't play the violin, so please forgive me if the description is oversimplified.   I am somewhat familiar with bowing technique, and as a generalization, the rules seem well-defined enough to allow a first pass at marks to be automated.

Jon

Posted By : Derrek - 2/26/2013 2:51 PM
To have bowing automatically assigned (and string players do not expect or want a mark on every change of bow) is a little like asking the Finale program to supply the rest of a melody given the first few notes. I'm pretty sure that unusual bowing (insofar as marking slurs and an occasional up-bow or down-bow in unusual circumstances) is the responsibility of the composer (or orchestrator), and the ultimate interpretation of the bowing falls to the (solo) player, lead string player of each section, or conductor.

Finale 2012 - Windows 7
GPO 4, JABB 3, World Instruments
TG Tools Full, (Sonar X2 Producer)

“Outside of a dog, a book is a man’s best friend. Inside of a dog it’s too dark to read.” — Groucho Marx

Posted By : Michel R. E. - 2/26/2013 3:17 PM
No, the rules are defined, but there is simply no way for a computer program to use them.
Those very rules are VERY complex and situational, and there are simply too many exceptions to the rules.